This subject is close to my heart.  I have been thinking about the future of newspapers for many years now and in fact, I am convinced that I have a series of solutions that could save the news industry. I know that’s a bold statement but as I begin to outline my ideas, it will become obvious to everyone.  I’m not sure newspapers themselves should be saved.  They have had plenty of opportunities to participate as leaders in the digital age but have failed to let go of outdated models and methods.  I am really more interested in journalism and perfecting a new way to deliver news that includes even those without computers or internet connections.

There is so much I want to say about this first ever hearing of this kind in the US senate.  However, this is going to be the first in a series of posts that I am (tentatively) titling “Public Media 2.0”.  I think the appropriate thing to do right now is just listen.  The problems facing newspapers in this digital age are spelled out in this hearing and it’s just a good place to begin.

Below is the full webcast and additional information.  NOTE:  This webcast does not begin until 60:00 into the video.

The Future of Journalism

Communications, Technology, and the Internet
Wednesday, May 6, 2009
02:30 PM
SR – 253
View Archive Webcast
The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation announces the following Subcommittee on Communications, Technology, and the Internet hearing: The Future of Journalism.

Majority Statements

John D. Rockefeller, IV

Witnesses

Opening Remarks

Panel 1

Senator Ben Cardin
Senator
United States Senate

Panel 2

Marissa Mayer
Vice President, Search Products & User Experience
Google Inc.
Alberto Ibargüen
President and Chief Executive Officer
John S. And James L. Knight Foundation
David Simon
Author, TV Producer and Former Newspaperman
Steve Coll
Former Managing Editor
The Washington Post
James Moroney
Publisher/CEO
The Dallas Morning News
Arianna Huffington
Co-founder and Editor-in-Chief
The Huffington Post
