**From Merriam-Webster Online

1de·tour : a deviation from a direct course or the usual procedure; especially : a roundabout way temporarily replacing part of a route

Sometimes we have to do things we don’t want to do, just to pay the bills.  I find myself in that very position right now.  I am taking a 40 hour a week job as a maintenance man at three downtown Portland buildings.  That is not what I went to school for, nor is it what I want to do for a career. But right now, paying my bills and supporting my wife (and our team), especially while they are going to school, is important to me.

My wife, myself and two friends from school started a multimedia company earlier this year and it has had some success.  But so far, it does not support my family. We are all still students and still have not found our niche’s yet.  Those of you that have tried to work for yourselves can appreciate my situation.  That’s just the way it is sometimes.  I knew when I chose to go back to school and try a new career, it would not be easy. But you know what?  My situation is not dire and in fact, I am going to make this work for me.

The company I am going to work for manages two new buildings in the South Waterfront development and one in the Pearl District.  They are in a pinch for maintenance personnel now, but I was told that a person with my skills could be hired as a concierge.  That would be closer to what I want to be doing.  I had a strange thought that I could combine a concierge position with social media and rock both. OK, maybe that’s a stretch, but it would not be such a bad gig.  One thing is for sure, the company that hired me made a good choice.  I appreciate the work and will give them my best. If the stars align just right, I will be able to work for this company and work in my chosen field.

Now, just because I’m going to have a “straight” job for a while, does not mean I will be going away. I will be taking a couple of classes this fall and otherwise studying my multimedia/tech/web/writing/film producing/social media/creative ass off. I am still going to be the President of the PCC Multimedia Club, where we have big plans.  I will still show my face at most of the geeky gatherings and I will still blog.  I am very excited about a XXXXXXXXXXX project that is about to happen (more on that later and no, it has nothing to do with iPhone development).  After all, my new job is only 40 hours a week, right?  That leaves another what, 30-40 more work hours? 😉

