I never really gave blogging much thought until a few months ago when I was asked about setting one up for a school’s trades and industry program.  The director of the program obviously understood the power of the blog.  I had to decline the offer because I knew virtually nothing about blogging, but it got me interested in how blogs and other social media can help businesses and education.  Meanwhile, I was busy with other projects and sort of put that on a back burner.  But I kept hearing about social media’s importance to business and education.  I also began reading a lot of blogs.  A couple of my favorites are boingboing.net and technorati.com.  Blogs are a great way to display your portfolio and there are some pretty good ones out there.  I was beginning to get the picture.  But then last week I had the opportunity to see Jim Turner speak at WebVisions in Portland, Oregon.

Jim Turner is an inspiration to me.  Jim is a well-respected professional blogger, mentoring others to become professional bloggers and leading companies through successful online campaigns. Jim is a leader in the new industry of social media and business blogging, and is well connected in advertising, public relations, marketing and other business circles.  He told us he began blogging about four years ago as a “daddy blogger”, writing about issues related to the stay at home father.  He also told us that he made a very comfortable living blogging and that many of us could too.  His best advise to get started was simply to have a blog (duh!), and so here I am!  I love to write and I love the internet, so this makes perfect sense to me.  Check out Jim’s website:  http://www.bloggersforhire.com/ .  Here is the introduction for his presentation at Webvisions 2008:

“Blogging For a Living:  Taking your skills to the Next Level-

Blogging has been a new phenomena and companies and businesses are now looking to make this a part of their marketing, advertising and public relations plans. Bloggers are now taking their newly learned skills and translating that into a career. The skills of a blogger, like basic knowledge of blog design and development, analytics, copywriting and other facets are making it possible to earn a living as a professional blogger.”  *Webvisions 2008 Program

There are other reasons I want to blog.  It will give me an opportunity to do some of the things I love to do.  I will use this place to display my portfolio of various multimedia projects.  I will try my hand at posting my own tutorials of cool things I know how to do.  I am going to interview some of the smart, interesting people I have met in school and around the Portland multimedia scene.  I plan to report on geek conferences, presentations and club meetings.  I also want somewhere to post podcasts of these things.  This will also be a place to house some of the best sites, blogs and news stories I have found on the internet as well as other things I like.  Stay tuned.

